Text size selector icon

Child Passenger Safety Technician Courses

Become a Technician!



Improving Occupant Protection for Children in Ambulances

This training is primarily designed to teach Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel about selection and installation of ambulance-specific restraints and some types of conventional child safety seats on an ambulance cot during non-critical pediatric transports.  

Course Objectives:

  • Understand challenges to transporting pediatric patients in ambulances

  • Understand Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) recommendations

  • Demonstrate proper harnessing and installation on a cot with convertible car seat and other pediatric transport devices currently produced

  • Review documents developed by the National Association of EMS Officials Safe Transport of Children Ad Hoc Committee

Instructors:
Lisa Baldwin-Bateman, Paramedic, CPST – LifeSave
Tracy Cleary, Paramedic, CPST – Kansas EMS for Children
Phyllis Larimore, RN, CPS Instructor – Children’s Mercy Hospital
Ronda Lusk, RN, CPS Instructor – Safe Kids Wichita Area Coalition

March 21, 2019
9am to Noon
Sterl Hall
619 N. Rogers 
Abilene, KS

Registration

March 21, 2019
1pm to 4pm
Sterl Hall
619 N. Rogers 
Abilene, KS

Registration

March 22, 2019
9am to Noon
914 E Hwy 36
Smith Center, KS

Registration

March 22, 2019
1pm to 4pm
914 E Hwy 36
Smith Center, KS

Registration


2019 CPS Update

April 1, 2019
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

6 CEU's available

Kansas Leadership Center
325 E. Douglas Ave.
Wichita, KS 67202

Registration



Become a Child Passenger Technician!

You must be at least 18 years old at the time the course starts. The standardized child passenger safety technician (CPST) certification course is 4 days long and combines classroom instruction, hands-on work with car seats and vehicles, and a community safety seat checkup. Attendance is required for the entire course. This is a physically demanding class. Students will be literally climbing in and out of a variety of vehicles, outdoors during the hands-on practice exercises and while participating in the public check up event. Dress should be casual and appropriate to the weather.  There are several dates in different locations. Please see below for registration information.  There is a fee of $85 to become a CPS Technician.
 

March 19-21

Sumner County Sheriff's Office
610 East Hillside
Wellington, KS 67152
Course ID: KS201811151108

Registration

March 26-28

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center
11009 S Hornet Road
Hutchinson, KS 67501
Course ID: KS201811141105

Registration

April 16-18

Pottawatomie County EMS
406 Miller Dr.
Wamego, KS 66547
Course ID: KS201811151107

Registration

May 29-31

Liberal Memorial Library
519 N Kansas Ave.
Liberal, KS 67901
Course ID: KS201811151109

Registration

June 11-13

Parsons Municipal Building
112 S 17th St.
Parsons, KS 67357
Course ID: KS201811151110

Registration

October 8-10

Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center
11009 S Hornet Road
Hutchinson, KS 67501
Course ID: KS201811141106

Registration

October 15-17

Jefferson County Sheriff's Office
1360 Walnut
Oskaloosa, KS 66066
Course ID: KS201811151111

Registration

How to register for a public course

How to register for a controlled course

1 Day CPS Renewal Course
This is NOT an update or refresher course. It provides a brief overview of the technical information contained in the most recent version of the NHTSA curriculum, verifies technical skills through hands-on testing, and assesses CPS knowledge through an on-site written test.

Check back for upcoming dates!


 
Change the page font size to large Change the page font size to medium Change the page font size to small